News Headlines
Home » Headlines » Mahama did not win, declare Akufo-Addo President – Gloria Akuffo

Mahama did not win, declare Akufo-Addo President – Gloria Akuffo



Spokesperson for the petitioners in the election petition case, Gloria Akuffo has told Citi News “we [petitioners] are asking the court to determine in our [petitioners] favour, in that John Mahama did not win and that the declaration should be reversed”.

According to her, though more time would have been desired by the parties within which to make their verbal addresses, the thirty minute allocated by the court will be used prudently.

The Supreme Court will on Wednesday morning, hear the oral addresses of parties in the election petition hearing.

Both the petitioners and respondents are expected to give reasons for and against why over 4 million votes cast in the 2012 election should be annulled or not in their submissions.

It is not clear which of the four lawyers will first address the court, but each will have 30 minutes to orally address the nine-member court, presided over by Mr Justice William Atuguba.

Other members of the panel are Mr Justice Julius Ansah, Mrs Justice Sophia Adinyira, Ms Justice Constance Rose Owusu, Mr Justice Jones Dotse, Mr Justice Anin Yeboah, Mr Justice Paul Baffoe-Bonnie, Mr Justice N. S. Gbadegbe and Mrs Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo.

The election petition hearing is challenging the declaration of President John Mahama as the winner of the 2012 presidential election.

It has been brought by three petitioners from the opposition NPP. They are Nana Akufo-Addo, flagbearer, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, vice-presidential candidate, and Jake Obetsebi Lamptey, National Chairman of the party.