Scroll to Top
Shatta named African Male Artiste of the Year
Posted by admin on 17th September 2016

Ghanaian dancehall artiste, Shatta Wale last Sunday won the African Male Artiste of the year at the 11th edition of the Nigeria Entertainment Awards.

Shatta, beat other competitors such as his compatriots Stonebwoy, Sarkodie, Bisa Kdei as well as other artistes from Liberia and Kenya to emerge as the winner.

Ghanaian songstress Efya, was also not left out as she beat her female contenders Mz Vee, Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania), Victoria Kimani (Kenya) Lira (South Africa) among others to win the African Female Artiste of the Year.

The much talked about event was held at the Tribeca Performing Art Center in New York and featured many African entertainers.

Below is the full list of winners of the Nigeria Entertainment Awards:


Album of the Year: Eyan Mayweather (Olamide)
Hottest Single of the Year: Mama (Kiss Daniel)

Best Song: Pick Up (Adekunle Gold)

AfroPop Artist of the Year: Kiss Daniel
Rap Act of the Year: Olamide

Best RnB Artist of the Year: Seyi Shay
Dancehall Artist: Ketchup

Best Collabo of the Year: My Woman, My
Everything – Patoranking ft Wande Coal

Best Live Performance: 2Baba

Best Music Video of the Year (Director): Unlimited LA (Emergency, Dbanj)

Best New Act to Watch: Adekunle Gold
Alternative Artist: Aramide

Indigenous Artist of the Year: Flavour

Diaspora Artist of the Year: Ayojay

Gospel Artist of the Year: Frank Edward
Most Promising Act to Watch: Mr. Eazi

Music Producer of the Year: Masterkraft

African Male Artist of the Year (Non Nigerian): Shatta Wale

African Female Artist of the Year (Non Nigerian): Efya


Female Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Mystelle

Male Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Gavpop
Diaspora Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Tunez (NYC)

Africa Disc Jockey of the Year: DJ Slick Stuat & Roja (UG)

Disc Jockey Collabo of the Year: DJ Kaywise ft Oritsefemi

Entertainment Executive of the Year: Don Jazzy

OAP of the Year: Tisan (Raypower

TV Presenter: Daala

Online Comedy Act: Emmanuella

Fashion Model: Mayowa Nicholas

Comedy Act of the Year: Basketmouth

Best Actor: Joseph Benjamin (Rebecca)

Best Actress: Fathia Balogun (Ishanna)

Supporting Actor: Sambasa Nzeribe

Supporting Actress: Osas Ajibade

Best Actor (Non Nigerian / Africa): Abraham Attah

Best Actress (Non Nigerian / Africa): Nuong Faalong (Freetown)

Film Director of the Year: Frankie Ogar (Soldiers Story)

Best Picture: Ishanna

Film of the Year (Producer, Non Nigerian / Africa): Beast of No Nation

Actor – TV: Folarin Falana (Jenifa’s Diary)

Actress – TV: Abimbola Craig (Skinny Girl)

TV Show of the Year: Skinny Girl in Transit

Short Film – Blood Taxi (Folasakin Iwajomo)

SOURCE: Daily Graphic