Home » Headlines » #NDCPrimaries: Zanetor floors Ashietey; Vanderpuije, Hanna Tetteh win

#NDCPrimaries: Zanetor floors Ashietey; Vanderpuije, Hanna Tetteh win

Dr. Zanetor Rawlings daughter of former President John Rawlings has won the Klottey Korle constituency in a landslide victory in the NDC parliamentary and presidential primaries.

Provisional results indicate that Dr. Rawlings polled 2,403 defeating incumbent Member of Parliament Nii Armah Ashietey who had 1,348 votes.

A third contestant Nii John Coleman had 100 votes.

Dr. Rawlings’ victory comes after she struggled to cast her vote in Saturday’s election after her name was missing in the voters’ register.

All attempts to trace her name to vote in the primaries have proved futile after touring several polling stations to trace her name.

Meanwhile, Accra Mayor Alfred Oko Vanderpuije has also won the Ablekuma South constituency.

The Chief Executive Officer of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly polled 3,298 while his contender Wisdom Nii Amo Dodoo managed 1,259 votes in Saturday’s polls.

Mr. Vanderpuije takes over from incumbent Fritz Baffour who decided not to seek re-election.

Madina constituency

In the Madina constituency, incumbent Amadu Sorogho defeated lawyer Francis Xavier Sosu.

Sorogho who has represented the constituency since 2004 polled 1,738 while Sosu managed 1,486 votes.

The other contestants Abdul Rahim Aremeyaw and Baba Ibrahim Mohammed had 454 and 210 votes respectively.

Hanna Tetteh wins

Foreign Affairs Minister and incumbent Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West in the Central region, Hanna Tetteh, has convincingly beaten Captain Owiredu Asuako, in the NDC’s parliamentary primaries.

Captain Owiredu polled just 101 votes representing 2.4% while Ms Tetteh got 4,129 representing 97.55% of the total votes cast.

Source: Ghana/Starrfmonline.com/103.5FM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.