News Headlines
Home » Headlines » ElectionHQ: Interesting results from NDC primaries; Dr. Rawlings, Bede Ziedeng, Don Arthur win

ElectionHQ: Interesting results from NDC primaries; Dr. Rawlings, Bede Ziedeng, Don Arthur win

Results of today’s presidential and parliamentary primaries have started trickling in after counting ended in some polling stations across the country.

Provisional results point to overwhelming endorsement of President John Mahama’s candidature for the 2016 presidential election.  Nonetheless the prayers and threats by some party leaders to cow every voter to cast his or her ballot for John Mahama were not fully adhered to.

Some polling stations recorded insignificant number of people voting No against the choice of John Mahama to lead the governing NDC into next year’s general elections.

For instance in Techiman South in the Brong Ahafo region, a polling station had 265 endorsing Mahama and 10 people voting No against Mahama

In the Eastern Region, at the RC polling station in the Lower West Akim 200 voted yes and 42 said no to Mahama.

As high as 82 members voted No against President Mahama at Lower Manya constituency in Manya Anglican polling station. He however had 444 yes.

Techiman South- 265 are for and 10 are against and 7 rejected votes. At La Dadekotopon-La Roman Catholic School polling station- 534 voted for President Mahama and 34 voted against him.

Ablekuma Central-Old Candle Factory, Sabon Zongo polling station- 402 said yes and no one voted against the president.

Klottey Korley-St Barnes-497 are for the president and 25 voted against him and 5 rejected votes.

And provisional results for Odododiodoo Constituency out of 7,731 delegates expected to have voted in 14 constituencies, 6,152 of them voted.  There were 11 no votes and 54 rejected ballots.

At the Ekumfi Constituency, George Kuntu Blankson ledwith 1,579 votes representing 29.30% of the total votes cast, Chief Biney had 1059 votes representing 19.7% with Abeiku Crentsil pulling 2,752 representing 51.10%.

According to provisional results from 17 polling stations out of the 36 in the Akatsi North constituency, Nortsu Kotoe, the incumbent MP pulled 1,516 representing 52.52%, his contender, Dr Agumenu Senanu also had 259 representing 8.97% and Dr Steven Torkpor pulled 1,111 representing 38.49%.

Dr. Zanetor Rawlings has taken a commanding lead gathering 2403 votes as a against the incumbent Nii Armah Ashiety’s 1348 votes in the Korle Klottey constituency in the Greater Accra Region. The third contestant managed only 100 votes.

Bede Anwaataazumo Ziedeng has dethroned Abu Samson the sitting MP for Lawra constituency in the Upper West Region.

Results from the Effutu constituency indicate that former broadcaster with TV3 Eric Don-Arthur has won the parliamentary primaries.

He polled 1694 votes while Ambrose Entsiwah polled 1261 out of the total votes cast.

Provisional results from the Akatsi North constituency show that the incumbent Nortsu Kotoe has won the elections.

He polled 2,688 votes, representing 51.11 percent. Stephen Tokpo who was his closest contender polled 2127 representing 40.44 percent of the votes cast.

Dr. Donald Agumenu on the other hand could only manage 444 votes representing 8.44 percent.

Hanna Tetteh trumps Captain Owiredu Asuako

Hanna Tetteh

The incumbent Member of Parliament for Awutu Senya West in the Central Region, Hanna Tetteh, has overwhelmingly won the NDC primaries in Awutu Senya constituency.

She polled 4,129 representing 97.55 percent to beat Captain Owiredu Asuako, who could only manage a paltry 101 votes representing 2.4% of the total votes cast.

This win for Madam Hanna Tetteh means she will be contesting the 20176 elections with the NPP’s George Andah.


Rashid Pelpuo wins Wa Central

Rashid Pelpuo

Results from Wa central constituency show that incumbent MP, Rashid Hassan Pelpuo has won the primaries.

He polled 4945 votes to win the seat.

His closest contender, Dr Alfa Musheibu polled 2495 votes while Kukurah Jamaldeen garnered 523 votes.

Iddrisu Mahama polled 223 votes with Wahid Bampuori polling an insignificant 37 votes.


Ablekuma Central

Haruna Halidu

Results from Ablekuma Central indicate that Haruna Halidu has won. He polled 2453 votes while his closest contender Peter Boamah Otokunor came close with 2217 votes.

The other contender Bashar Harsey polled 443 votes.


Volta Region, North Dayi

Results from the North Dayi constituency in the Volta Region indicate that the incumbent MP George Loh has lost the primaries.

He polled 2209 votes, losing to a final year student of the University of Cape Caost Joycelyn Tetteh, who polled 3037 votes. Prof Gavua on the other hand polled 1380 out of the total votes cast.


Benita Okiti Duah wins Ledzokuku Constituency

Benita Okiti Duah

Incumbent MP for the Ledzokuku constituency Benita Okiti Duah has won the primaries massively. She polled 4161 votes out of the total votes cast, his closest contender Amartey Daniel 2092 votes.

The other contenders Amartey Gabriel and Nii Nortey Duah polled 322 and 109 votes respectively.


Mion Constituency

Abdul Aziz

Final result from the Mion constituency show that Mohammed Abdul Aziz pulled has won the primaries.

He polled 1652 votes out of the total ballots cast.

The other contenders Dr Mu’awia Zakaria, Ahmed Yakubu , Abdul Jalil Yakubu polled 1639, 1345 and 1234 votes respectively.

The others Munkaila Zakaria, Alhassan Adam, Tanko Ibrahim also polled 369, 355 and 362 respectively


– See more at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.