News Headlines
Home » Headlines » Mahama nominates 26 new deputy ministers…Dzifa Gomashie -Deputy Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts Nominee
Deputy Minister,Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts: Dzifa Gomashie

Mahama nominates 26 new deputy ministers…Dzifa Gomashie -Deputy Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts Nominee

President John Mahama has released a list of 26 deputy ministerial nominees to be vetted by Parliament.

The list included Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed for Information and Media Relations, Joseph Yammin for Youth and Sports as well as Samson Ahi for Ministry of Water Resources, Works & Housing.

A statement signed by the Executive Secretary to the President Raymond Atuguba said the nomination was in accordance with article 79 of the 1992 Constitution.

The full list of nominees is as follows; 1. Ricketts Kweku Hagan – Ministry of Finance

2. Ebenezer Okletey Teye Larbi – Ministry of Defence

3. Dr. Tia Sugri -Ministry of Health

4. Alex Kyeremeh -Ministry of Education

5. Yaw Effah Baafi -Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources.

6. James Agalga -Ministry of Interior

7. Vincent Oppong Asamoah -Ministry of Water Resources, Works & Housing

8. Sampson Ahi -Ministry of Water Resources, Works & Housing

9. Dr. Alhassan Ahmed Yakubu -Ministry of Food & Agriculture

10. Dr. Hannah Louisa Bissiw -Ministry of Food & Agriculture

11. Benjamin Dagadu – Ministry of Energy and Petroleum

12. John Abdulai Jinapor -Ministry of Energy & Petroleum

13. Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed -Ministry of Information & Media Relations

14. Joseph Yammin -Ministry of Youth & Sports

15. Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye -Ministry of Trade & Industry

16. Victoria Hammah -Ministry of Communications

17. John Alexander Ackon -Ministry of Chieftaincy & Traditional Affairs

18. Isaac Adjei-Mensah -Ministry of Roads & Highways

19. Mohammed Baba Ahmed Jamal -Ministry of Local Government & Rural Development

20. Dzifa Gomashie -Ministry of Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts

21. Antwi Boasiako-Sekyere – Ministry of Employment & Labour Relations

22. Dr. Musheibu Mohammed-Alfa -Ministry of Environment, Science, Tech & Innovation

23. Aquinas Quansah -Ministry of Fisheries & Aquaculture Development

24. Benita Okity-Dua -Ministry of Gender, Children & Social Protection

25. Rachael Florence Apoh -Ministry of Gender, Children & Social Protection

“Furthermore, in accordance with Article 256(2) of the 1992 Constitution of Ghana, His Excellency President John Dramani Mahama has nominated A.B.A. Fuseini, as Deputy Regional Minister Designate for the Northern Region,” the statement said.

Dzifa Gomashie made her acting debut in 1985 with Talents Theatre Company formed by Kofi Portuphy, is one of Ghana’s talented and experienced actresses.

She was installed queen mother of Aflao with the stool name Mamma Dzramedo I, in 2012 and she is also the CEO of Values for Life, a non-governmental organization (NGO) set up to bridge the gap between formal school education and home training.

The NGO has a community center with a library attached and they also work with underprivileged women and children. They use theater for education and create a platform for its members to unearth their talents.

Dzifa Gomashie’s academic laurels include First Class Honours from the University of Ghana in 1998 and an M.Phil in African Studies in 2007 from the same institution. Between 2003 and 2007, she studied and obtained Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA), Theatre Arts and Gender Studies at the University of Ghana.

She was adjudged Best Actress at the National Film and Television Institute (NAFTI) in 1992.

From July 1992 to July 2003, Dzifa produced the popular television show, By The Fireside, which aimed at reviving the art of storytelling in the Ghanaian and imbibing in the children and youth, cultural and traditional values for life.

Her illustrious acting career includes stints with Abibigromma National Drama Company and she has appeared in several productions notable among them is Land of a Million Magicians.

Dzifa Gomashie is expected to bring her wealth of experience in the creative arts to bear at the newly established Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts whose substantive minister is Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.